Joining ICTC – Membership

Sue Millar – President ICTC  – addressing ICOMOS 18th General Assembly, Florence, Italy, 2014 on the theme Sharing and experiencing the identity of communities through tourism and interpretation.

Are you interested in becoming a member of ICOMOS International Scientific Committee on Cultural Tourism (ICTC)? 

If you are, please read the information below then contact us via email:  admin [at] icomos-ictc [dot] org

Why join ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee?

As a member of ICOMOS International Scientific Committee on Cultural Tourism (ICTC) you will join an international professional network working at a strategic level to advise and influence nation states, regional authorities and international bodies – UNESCO, UNWTO & IUCN  – in adopting policies and practices that support preserving, conserving and safe-guarding cultural heritage in the context of sustainable tourism development. (See: Our Goals & ICTC Statutes Article 3 – Mission).

We are a specialist International Scientific Committee of ICOMOS – the International Council on Monuments and Sites (  ICTC provides a forum for heritage and tourism professionals and academics to research and promote the development of best practice in integrated planning and cultural heritage management at tourism destinations especially but not exclusively UNESCO World Heritage sites. ICOMOS is the adviser to UNESCO on cultural World Heritage sites. We provide Annual and Triennial Reports to the ICOMOS Executive Board. (Sample attached – ICTC Triennial Report 2014 – 2016 & President’s Report 2016).

Who are ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee (ICTC) members?

The ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee (ICTC) is a voluntary  group of heritage and cultural tourism professionals and academics. We are experts either working for public sector conservation bodies and NGOs at international, national, regional and local level, or acting as consultants in the private sector, or employed as academics in university architectural conservation, cultural heritage, art, business and tourism departments. We have a worldwide membership of over 100 coming from Europe, the Americas, Asia-Pacific region and increasingly from Africa.

We encourage active participation in our cutting edge debates, expert seminars and workshops by heritage and tourism professionals and academics at all stages of their careers. There are opportunities to join from entry level to those with established reputations in the fields of cultural heritage conservation, heritage and tourism planning and management, and for those managing their own tourism businesses. 

The main criteria for membership is a commitment to open discussion and working with ICTC colleagues to develop policy directions and best practice in cultural heritage conservation and management at tourism destinations – with a focus on sustainable cultural tourism and the conservation and safe-guarding people’s way of life and special places – especially but not exclusively UNESCO World Heritage sites.

 How is the ICTC organised?

Executive Committee – the ICTC Bureau

The ICTC Bureau holds an Annual Meeting (AM) – either face-to-face or virtual – and communicates with members through regular newsletters on a closed list-serve and our Facebook page: and closed Facebook group:  

The Bureau holds triennial elections for officer positions with the option of 4-6 appointments: President, Vice-President (1-3 positions), Secretary-General and Membership Secretary, Treasurer

 Can I Join ICTC? 

Categories of ICTC membership

Those seeking to join the Committee are invited to contact us via email. The Secretary-General and Membership Secretary will ask you to complete and return the forms relevant to the category of membership you are applying for. Candidate applications are reviewed by the ICTC Membership Sub-committee.

There are six categories of ICTC membership. The Bureau is in discussions with ICTC members about how best to accommodate postgraduate students and whether we should have a distinct category of Young Professionals (YPs). Currently there are no separate ICTC membership fees: ICOMOS National Committee (NC) membership is required for conservation and heritage professionals.

Expert Members

  • Voting Expert Members – nominated ICOMOS National Committees (NCs) – are responsible for electing the ICTC Bureau[i]
  • Expert members endorsed by their ICOMOS National Committee
  • Expert members – self-nominatedAssociate Members – includes Young Professionals (YPs) and non ICOMOS members

Institutional Members & Honorary Members

Members within each category may use the title “Member, ICOMOS International Cultural Tourism Committee” and may identify their ICTC membership in support of their professional activities. The current ICTC working language is English.

[i] Voting Expert Member National Committees – Australia, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Korea, Mexico, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Portugal, Seychelles , Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America.